Home Home


Fr. Douglas Brougher

New Orleans native Fr. Douglas Brougher is a member of Saint Ben's class of 1957 and was ordained as a priest in 1962. He has served as Chaplain and Pastoral Care Director at Touro Hospital in New Orleans since 1986. He is also currently in residence at Good Shepherd Parish in New Orleans, where he also does sacramental ministry.

Fr. Doug is an Oblate of Saint Joseph Abbey and he has served on the faculty at Saint Joseph Seminary College and St. John Prep School in New Orleans.

He has been pastor or co-pastor at parishes throughout the New Orleans metro area including St. Joseph Catholic Church in Gretna, Sacred Heart of Jesus in Norco, and Immaculate Conception in Marrero. He has also served as an assistant or associate at Saint Raphael the Archangel Catholic Church in New Orleans, St. Mary Magdalen Catholic Church in Metairie, Saint Theresa Little Flower Church in New Orleans and Our Lady of Prompt Succor Catholic Church in Chalmette.

Fr. Doug is a member of both Touro's Ethics Committee and its Research Surveillance Committee. He also is a member or has been a member of the Priests' Council, Continuing Formation for Priests Committee, Louisiana Chaplains' Association and the Louisiana Spiritual Directors' Association.

"I am humbled and grateful for this honor. Saint Ben's has been such a special blessing in my life from my six happy years there in the 50's to today. It really is my second home. I am especially grateful to all the monks who provided my early seminary formation, and the monastic and seminary communities that continue to provide an oasis in these later years of priestly ministry," said Fr. Doug.

Previous Alumni of the Year
  • 2005 - O. Frank Morton
  • 2006 - Fr. Ignatius Ropollo
  • 2007 - Henry Carrigee
  • 2008 - Bishop Robert Muench
  • 2009 - Roland Toups
  • 2010 - Salvatore T. Mule
  • 2011 - Rev. Danny Poche
  • 2012 - Kevin Ericksen
  • 2013 - Rev.Gerald H. Burns
  • 2014 - Archbishop Gregory M. Aymond
  • 2015 - Fr. Gerard R. Martin
  • 2016 - Brian T. Landry
  • 2017 - Abbot Patrick Regan, O.S.B.
  • 2018 - Jimmy Harrington